G63 National Park Authority board member re-elected

Willie Nisbet, left, with fellow successful candidates in the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park Authority local Board member elections (from second left) David McCowan, Bob Darracott and Billy Ronald. Pic: Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park Authority.

FIVE members have been elected to the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park Authority Board including Willie Nisbet, re-elected in ward four (east Loch Lomond and Port of Menteith) representing the G63 area.

Willie, who has been on the board as a locally elected member since 2006, retained his seat by attracting 457 votes from local residents.

The election count was held at National Park Authority Headquarters in Balloch last night (Thursday).

The other successful candidates in the local Board member elections are Bob Darracott (ward one –Cowal and North Loch Lomond – 113 votes); Billy Ronald (ward two – Breadalbane and the Trossachs – 321 votes); Martin Earl (ward three – Callander – 340 votes); and David McCowan (ward five – West Loch Lomond and Balloch – 242 votes).

The National Park Authority Board is responsible for making strategic decisions for the Park and has an important role to play in ensuring the National Park Authority deliver its key aims.

Voting in the election, which takes place every four years via postal ballot, was open to all those who live in the National Park and are aged over 16 years old. Turnout across the Park was 33%.

The election was organised by Stirling Council on behalf of the National Park Authority. Depute returning officer Iain Strachan presided over the count proceedings and announced the successful candidates, who were congratulated by National Park Authority Board convener James Stuart who says: “I am delighted that so many people who live, work and have an interest in this beautiful part of Scotland took the time to put themselves forward as a candidate or have their say on who should make the important decisions here in the Park.

“Congratulations to those successful candidates who have been re-elected to the National Park Authority Board and also welcome to Bob Darracott and Martin Earl who re-joins the Board in his new capacity. Board members play a crucial role in helping to steer the strategic direction of the National Park and our locally-elected members’ knowledge and expertise make a crucial contribution to our decision-making process. I look forward to working with them over the next four years to continue making our National Park a great place to live, work and visit.”

The newly elected members will take up their duties with immediate effect and their term will run until July 2022.

• Full results of the elections are available on Stirling Council’s website

Author: editor

Share This Post On